The Mother of All Dinners


Happy Thanksgiving, Readers! Apparently I have lost my mind as I am writing a blog post on the actual holiday…a holiday when I am the only cook! Definitely my choice…of all I have invited, I would say only two are decent cooks…maybe even good cooks. But my sis-sis is on a health tip and all about making Thanksgiving healthy and I want nothing low fat or Weight Watchers associated with my holiday meal. The other cook, Guardian Princess, is supplying desserts: sweet potato pie with cinnamon whipping cream and chocolate pound cake. My menu (all fresh and homemade) is below:

  • Turkey
  • Glazed Ham
  • Stuffing with Spicy Sausage and Cranberries
  • Albacore Tuna and Pasta Salad
  • Potato Salad
  • Macaroni & Cheese
  • Whipped Sweet Potatoes
  • Greens
  • Sodas/Water

Did I mention that it is now almost 10am and my dinner is at 3pm? I have laundry that needs to be folded and put away, the apartment needs to be cleaned and I STILL have not done anything potato related and the greens are in the sink waiting to be cleaned. I wrestled with that ham ( her name is Henrietta) for almost an hour last night….that is a BIG chick…she had to be glazed THREE times!  The turkey, which is still a very unhealthy shade of pale after an hour in the oven and his first basting, is at least starting to fill the house with smells of his butter and Italian dressing marinade. The tuna salad is ready but I am thinking it may not be enough…I used bowties versus elbows as the pasta. The  mac & cheese is ready for the oven and the stuffing is done.

So while I am being all Betty Crocker and stuff, I am thinking about the events of the past 24 hours and I am dealing with denial (Sister Someone’s) and resurrection (mine). I am going to start with Sister Someone…her job is in jeopardy. She has gotten a demotion ( she was a supervisor) and a less than satisfactory annual assessment and feels both were unjustified. I will say that the woman who has now assumed her duties is a not to be trusted backstabber, but I say SS gave the woman the tools. I told you guys before how Sister Someone gets all overwhelmed when she has actual work to do and will pawn it off on others…but then she will take credit for it when the work is correct and gets praise. Yeah, she is one of those who takes all the credit when you make her look good and dishes all the blame when you don’t. Not to mention the woman’s attendance is sporadic and erratic at best because of her son’s issues at school. So she is moaning and bitching about the demotion, but she still has a job. She still has her salary…seriously, if this is what causes a crisis for her, maybe she and I need to trade employment places. Less work, less responsibility and the same salary? I will take that in a heartbeat. Personally, she is still teaching her son to address Brother Everything as “daddy” and I told her that will only serve to backfire on her. STOP lying to her son, stop lying to herself…I was told to SHUT UP and let her live her dream. AND the three of them are coming to my place later for dinner and they will all be dressed alike. Heaven help us all.

As for me, my resurrection of feelings started with an innocent  remark by Oscar (who is battling impatience and discomfort) about the movie Breaking Dawn…something about when Edward asks Bella to marry him because she was the only one in thousands of years he found worthy enough to be his wife. And just.like.that. I was off on a tangent about why him did not/could not find me worthy enough of a stable relationship…bump the marriage. I had to catch my breath, I had to smoke cigarettes and I had to think this all the way through. The first thing I thought was this cannot happen. Not now, it can’t. THIS is not only Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday….it was also a celebration to show myself and those that matter what a difference a year and their love, support and encouragement makes. My second thought was based on him’s choices, I never stood a chance. I mean, what chance do I stand against a man who views disrespect as an aphrodisiac and whorish dress/behaviors as some sort of foreplay? I treat people with love, kindness, respect…I am open, friendly and can hold intelligent conversations on anything. I am also not looking to control anyone, especially someone who wishes to be either a trained monkey or to absolve all responsibility and/or accountability. Third, I remembered that him no longer has control over me or my emotions and that I really, truly and sincerely am in a better place without him. Without him, there is no uncertainty, no instability and no wondering. And that was when I knew I was no longer talking out of my ass, or trying to sound all healed and healthy to impress others…I really am better and happier and today is an official celebration!

So, I am going to finish the last three items on the menu (greens, sweet potatoes and potato salad), take some trash out, clean the apartment and try to have myself and the dinner ready in less than 5 hours. I am going to enjoy my family and friends and call up Busy Bee to call her a heifer for not bringing me one of her yummy sweet potato pies and hope that I have enough food for my guests as we break bread together over the Mother of All Dinners.

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone and may you have a holiday to remember.  

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

